Home > News > Crawford defends position, Dussett is new commissioner after primary vote

Crawford defends position, Dussett is new commissioner after primary vote


Though turnout was low, over 2,000 Hale Countians came to the polls on Tuesday, March 5 to make their voices heard in the 2024 party primary elections.

Incumbent Probate Judge Arthur Crawford successfully defended a challenge to his position in the Democratic primary from local business owner Larid Cole. Crawford received 63.22% of the vote, a total of 990 votes, to Cole’s 576 votes or 36.78%.

In the race for Hale County Commission, District No. 2, Earlean Dussett won the Democratic nomination with 59.70% of the votes, amounting to 360 votes. Willie “Red” Hudson received 243 votes, making up 40.30% of the total.

For the Hale County Board of Education, District No. 4, Chad Payne won the Democratic nomination with 67.10% or 261 votes, compared to Hollie Pernier Wyatt , who received 32.90% or 128 votes.


Statewide Amendment Number One was unsuccessful with Hale County primary voters, with 55.53% (1,174 votes) opposing and 44.47% (940 votes) supporting.

In the Democratic delegates for the 7th Congressional District, Joseph R Biden Jr. Delegates led with 9.52% (354 votes), followed by Eleonor T. Bell with 10.56% (393 votes), Linda Coleman-Madison with 12.55% (467 votes), Christopher John England with 9.76% (363 votes), Rolanda Hollis with 8.20% (305 votes), Kelvin Lawrence with 9.88% (360 votes), Robert L. Stewart with 18.01% (670 votes), Albert Turner Jr with 12.20% (454 votes), Sheila Tyson with 7.04% (262 votes), Warren “Billy” Young with 0.97% (36 votes), and Uncommitted Delegates with 1.51% (56 votes).

On the Republican side, for Court of Civil Appeals Judge, Place 2, Chad Hanson achieved a narrow win with 53.47% (370 votes) over Stephen Davis Parker, who received 46.53% (322 votes).

For Court of Criminal Appeals Judge, Place 2, Thomas Govan outpaced Rich Anderson with 56.07% (388 votes) to Anderson’s 43.93% (304 votes).

Twinkle Andress Cavanaugh claimed a decisive win in the President, Public Service Commission race with 60.60% (463 votes), compared to Robert L. McCollum with 39.40% (301 votes).

In the race for the United States Presidential 7th Congressional District , Terri A. Sewell was the clear favorite with 86.70% (1,330 votes) over Chris Davis , who garnered 13.30% (204 votes).

For the United States Representative 7th Congressional District , Christian Horn led with 58.33% (385 votes), followed by Robin Litaker with 41.67% (275 votes).

For Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, Sarah Stewart won with 63.25% (497 votes), outpacing Bryan Taylor , who received 36.75% (283 votes).

The Presidential candidates for the Democratic party in Hale County saw Joseph R Biden Jr. with a commanding lead at 80.26% (1,183 votes), followed by Dean Phillips with 6.78% (100 votes), and Uncommitted with 12.96% (191 votes).

The Republican field for the President of the United States showed Donald J. Trump with an overwhelming majority at 92.68% (760 votes), with Uncommitted securing just 0.49% (4 votes).

The election results, including a total ballot cast of 2,437 out of 12,007 registered voters, reflect a voter turnout of 20.30%. These results are unofficial until certified.

Leave a Reply