Home > News > Hale will pick new county sheriff, vote on state representative, district attorney May 24

Hale will pick new county sheriff, vote on state representative, district attorney May 24


Voters in Hale County will have an opportunity to have their voices heard in the county’s May 24 primary election.

The outcome of the Democratic primary will likely decide who will hold the position of Hale County Sheriff for the next four years. Longtime sheriff Kenneth Ellis, who has held the position for many year, will retire at the end of this year’s term. Two candidates have qualified to seek the Democratic party’s nomination in that race.

Long-serving Alabama Legislator Ralph Howard, a Greensboro native, will also face a challenge in his primary this year. Howard’s District 72, which was redrawn following the 2020 Census, now includes parts of Tuscaloosa County, and no longer includes any of Perry County.

The new district lines allowed Curtis Travis, also a Hale County native but who now resides in Tuscaloosa County, to qualify to seek the party’s nomination for the District 72 seat in the Alabama House of Representatives.


There are no contested races for the local Hale County Republican primary, but many statewide offices will appear on the ballot.

The ballot will also include a statewide constitutional amendment, geared toward creating funding for state parks and historic sites.

Democratic Ticket
In the Democratic primary, there will be six candidates vying for the nomination for governor. They are: Yolanda, Rochelle Flowers, Malika Sanders Fortier, Patricia Slater Jamieson, Arthur Kennedy, Chad “Chig” Martin, and Doug “New Blue” Smith.

For U.S. Senator, three candidates will seek the nomination: Will Boyd, Brandaun Dean, and Lanny Jackson.

For State Representative, District 72, incumbent State Rep. Ralph Howard will face challenger Curtis L. Travis for the nomination.

For District Attorney of the Fourth Judicial Circuit incumbent Michael Jackson will face off against Marion attorney Robert H. Turner, Jr.

For Hale County Sheriff, which will be vacated by retiring Sheriff Kenneth Ellis, two candidates, Willie J. Bryant and Michael Hamilton, will seek the nomination.

Republican Ticket
For the Republican primary, there will be nine candidates vying for the gubernatorial nomination. They are: Linday Blanchard, Lew Burdette, Stacy Lee George, incumbent Gov. Kay Ivey, Tim James, Donald Trent Jones, Dean Odle, Dave Thomas, and Dean Young.

Six candidates will seek the Republican nomination for the U.S. Senate seat being vacated by Sen. Richard Shelby. They are: Lille Boddie, Katie Britt, Mo Brooks, Karla M. Dupriest, Mike Durant, and Jake Schafer.

Two candidates will seek the party’s nomination for Attorney General, including current incumbent Steve Marshall and challenger Harry Bartlett Still III.

For Associate Justice of the Supreme Court, Place 5, Greg Cook and Debra Jones will seek the nomination.

For Secretary of State, Wes Allen, Christian Horn, Ed Packard, and Jim Zeigler will vie for the party’s nomination.

The ticket includes three candidates for State Auditor: Stan Cooke, Rusty Glover, and Andrew Sorrell.

For Public Service Commission, Place 1, the candidates will be John Hammock, Stephen McLamb, Jeremy H. Oden, and Brent Woodall.

For Public Service Commission, Place 2, the candidates will be Chip Beeker, Robin Litaker, and Robert L. McCollum.

Statewide Constitutional Amendment
Both party’s ballots will include a Yes-or-No referendum on proposed Statewide Amendment 1, which would authorize the state to issue and sell bonds in an amount up to $85,000,000 for the purposes of the improvement, renovation, equipping, acquisition, provision, construction, and maintenance of Alabama’s state parks, public historical sites, and public historical parks.

Leave a Reply