Home > News > Sample ballots available in Hale County Probate Office, online for May 24 primary

Sample ballots available in Hale County Probate Office, online for May 24 primary


Sample ballots reflecting those for the upcoming Hale County party primary election set for Tuesday, May 24 are now available online and in the Hale County Probate Office.

Online, sample ballots for each county’s primary elections are available on the Alabama Secretary of State’s website at: https://www.sos.alabama.gov/alabama-votes/2022-primary-election-sample-ballots.

A sample ballot for Hale County is also available on our website at https://greensborowatchman.com , and on Page 6 of this week’s newspaper.

Democratic Ticket


In the Democratic primary, there will be six candidates vying for the nomination for governor. They are: Yolanda Rochelle Flowers, Malika Sanders Fortier, Patricia Slater Jamieson, Arthur Kennedy, Chad “Chig” Martin, and Doug “New Blue” Smith.

For U.S. Senator, three candidates will seek the nomination: Will Boyd, Brandaun Dean, and Lanny Jackson.

For State Representative, District 72, incumbent State Rep. Ralph Howard will face challenger Curtis L. Travis for the nomination.

For District Attorney of the Fourth Judicial Circuit, incumbent Michael Jackson will face off against Marion attorney Robert H. Turner, Jr.

For Hale County Sheriff, which will be vacated by retiring Sherriff Kenneth Ellis, two candidates, Willie J. Bryant and Michael Hamilton, will seek the nomination.

Republican Ticket

For the Republican primary, there will be nine candidates vying for the gubernatorial nomination. They are Lindy Blanchard, Lew Burdette, Stacy Lee George, incumbent Gov. Kay Ivey, Tim James, Donald Trent Jones, Dean Odle, Dave Thomas, and Dean Young.

Six candidates will seek the Republican nomination for the U.S. Senate seat being vacated by Sen. Richard Shelby. They are: Lillie Boddie, Katie Britt, Mo Brooks, Karla M. Dupriest, Mike Durant, and Jake Schafer.

Two candidates will seek the party’s nomination for Attorney General, including current incumbent Steve Marshall and challenger Harry Bartlett Still III.

For Associate Justice of the Supreme Court, Place 5, Greg Cook and Debra Jones will seek the nomination.

For Secretary of State, Wes Allen, Christian Horn, Ed Packard, and Jim Zeigler will vie for the party’s nomination.

The ticket includes three candidates for State Auditor: Stan Cooke, Rusty Glover, and Andrew Sorrell.

For Public Service Commission, Place 1, the candidates will be John Hammock, Stephen McLamb, Jeremy H. Oden, and Brent Woodall.

For Public Service Commission, Place 2, the candidates will be Chip Beeker, Robin Litaker, and Robert L. McCollum.

State Constitutional Amendment

Both party’s ballots will include a Yes-or-No referendum on proposed Statewide Amendment 1, which would authorize the state to issue and sell bonds in an amount up to $85,000,000 for the purposes of the improvement, renovation, equipping, acquisition, provision, construction, and maintenance of Alabama’s state parks, public historical sites, and public historical parks.

Leave a Reply